The Best Movies of 2009: The Oscar winners announced

The film industry's highest accolades were dished out on Sunday evening (or 3:30am, Monday morning, South African time) at the 82nd Annual Academy Awards in Los Angeles. I won't comment about them too much here because:

A) I know many South Africans prefer to watch the delayed (and refreshingly ad break reduced) broadcast of the Oscars tonight on MNET at 7:30, and don't want to be subjected to too many spoilers in the interim.

B) If you're really interested in what I have to say, as opposed to millions of other online commentators, you can always read my Twitter stream dating from a few hours ago.

So, right, below is the complete list of this year's Academy Award winners (the full list of nominees is here). South Africans can now diarise Friday, 19 March as their first opportunity to see this year's Best Picture winner, which took home a total of 6 Oscars - winning in 6 out of the 9 categories it was nominated in. Out of interest, the film also made history when its director became the first ever woman to win an Academy Award for Best Director. Great stuff!

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow for "The Hurt Locker"
Best Actor: Jeff Bridges in “Crazy Heart”
Best Actress: Sandra Bullock in "The Blind Side"
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz in “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique in “Precious”
Best Original Screenplay: “The Hurt Locker” Written by Mark Boal
Best Adapted Screenplay: “Precious” Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher
Best Foreign Language: “The Secret in Their Eyes (El Secreto de Sus Ojos)” Argentina
Best Animated Film: “Up” Pete Docter
Best Documentary: “The Cove” Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens
Best Cinematography: “Avatar” Mauro Fiore
Best Art Direction: Avatar” Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair
Best Costumes: “The Young Victoria” Sandy Powell
Best Editing: “The Hurt Locker” Bob Murawski and Chris Innis
Best Score: “Up” Michael Giacchino
Best Song: “The Weary Kind”(Crazy Heart) Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett
Best Makeup: “Star Trek” Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow
Best Visual Effects: “Avatar” Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones
Best Sound Editing: “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson
Best Sound Mixing: “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett
Best Animated Short: “Logorama” Nicolas Schmerkin
Best Live Action Short: “The New Tenants” Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson
Best Documentary Short: “Music by Prudence” Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett


Popular posts from this blog

Is the rebooted Lara Croft gay? Evidence for and against...

Fun for Monday: Your Pop Culture Myers-Briggs Personality Type

Ladies I Love: Part 2 - Rhona Mitra